By Robert Egbe


80 Ibeju-Lekki youths accused by the police of assaulting policemen and destroying property valued at N570,000 at two police stations, had been on Thursday introduced earlier than an Igbosere Magistrates’ Court docket in Lagos.

A number of the defendants are: Segun Adeyemi, 29; Christian Duru, 23; Afeez Ayodele, 25 and Bakare Yusuf, 20; Kazeem Rama, 25; Moses Awolowo 26; Yusuf Mohammed, 30; and Jamiu Osiberu, 37.

They had been arraigned on an 11-count cost of illegal injury of property, assault occasioning grievous bodily hurt and conduct prone to trigger breach of peace.

Prosecution counsel Mrs Yetunde Cardoso alleged that the defendants dedicated the offences in April 2020 at Akodo and Orimede areas of Ibeju Lekki, Lagos.

Cardoso, a Deputy Superintendent (DSP) mentioned the defendants invaded Akodo and Orimede Police Stations, broken property valued at N570,000 “and injured 5 law enforcement officials on lawful obligation on the two stations with harmful weapons for unjustifiable causes.”

Cardoso recognized the injured officers, as Corporal Seyi Ayandosu, Inspector Ayodele Oguntola, Inspector Johnson Kolawale, Inspector Ejeje Egbala and Inspector Abideen Akintoye.

“All of the injured law enforcement officials are receiving remedy at a hospital in Lagos,” she added.

The court docket heard that the offences offended sections 411, 412, 45, 35 (a) (1) 174 and 166(d) of the Felony legislation of Lagos State, 2015.

Every defendant pleaded not responsible.

Justice of the Peace Doja Ojo granted them N50,000 bail every with two sureties every within the like sum.

Ojo adjourned until June 8, for point out.

She remanded them in police custody until they perfected their bail circumstances.

The Nation remembers that on April 27, the police alleged that youths in Ibeju-Lekki protested towards the state’s COVID-19 lockdown directive.

51 of them had been arrested within the aftermath of skirmishes that adopted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *